For new tests and laboratory services information, see Test Catalog News.

What's New at GML?


Chairman Emeritus Retires

Congratulations to Dr. Conrad Schuerch, Chairman Emeritus, Laboratory Medicine, on his retirement from Geisinger after 41 years of service.

Dr Schuerch joined Geisinger Laboratory in July 1981, serving as vice chairman from October 1991 through February 1993 when he assumed the role of acting chairman before being confirmed as chairman in October 1993. Over the next 23 years, he successfully led and, together with VP Therese Snyder and later Diana Kremitske, grew the Laboratory as the system has expanded to include 8 hospitals and a robust network of clinic laboratories. He oversaw the building of the core laboratory and move into the new building in 2015 after 100 years in the original main hospital building.

Dr Schuerch stepped down as chairman in 2016 to concentrate on resurrecting the pathology residency program and saw the first two residents graduate from our restored program earlier this month. The Laboratories at Geisinger would not be what they are today without his leadership and direction.

Dr. Schuerch officially retired on June 30, 2022.

Congratulations, thank you, and best wishes!



Dr. Jialing Huang  Geisinger Medical Laboratories welcomes Dr. Jialing Huang to our Geisinger Medical Center laboratory. 

Dr. Huang comes to us from the Department of Pathology at Thomas Jefferson University where he was an assistant professor teaching pathology residents.  He received his MD from Jiangxi Medical College, China, and PhD at Sun Yat-sen University of Medical Sciences,China. He received pathology residency training at Saint Barnabas Medical Center, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, in New Jersey and completed fellowships in GI and liver pathology at New York University and in molecular pathology at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore.  Dr. Huang is board certified in anatomic and clinical pathology and molecular pathology.   He specializes in gastrointestinal pathology and molecular pathology.


Geisinger Medical Laboratories welcomes Dr. John Childs to our Geisinger Medical Center laboratory. 

Dr Childs comes to us from the Department of Pathology at Walter Reed National Military Medical Center and will officially retire from the US Naval Service in July. He completed his MD at Case Western and pathology residency at Duke University, followed by a fellowship in dermatopathology at the National Capital Consortium. Board certified in AP-CP and Dermatopathology, Dr Childs has been an active educator and served as director of the Pathology Residency Program at Walter Reed from 2016-2021. He also directed their Dermatopathology Fellowship from 2017-2021.  

Dr Childs will serve as our new system director of Surgical Pathology and Histology and medical director for the Electron Microscopy lab.  He will first focus on leading the renal pathology subspecialty and will join the breast, dermatopathology and GU teams over the next couple of months.


Geisinger Medical Laboratories welcomes Dr. Youzhong Yuan to our Geisinger Wyoming Valley Laboratory. 

Dr. Yuan received his M.D. from Second Military Medical University and his PhD from Fudan University, both in Shanghai, China. Dr. Yuan completed pathology residency training at Conemaugh Memorial Medical Center in Johnstown, Pennsylvania, where he was chief resident, and at the University of California, San Diego. He also completed a hematopathology fellowship at Yale-New Haven Hospital in New Haven, Connecticut.  

Dr. Yuan is board certified in anatomic and clinical pathology and hematopathology and holds memberships in the College of American Pathologists, American Society for Clinical Pathology, and the Society of Hematopathology. 



Cytopathologists recognized at the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology’s (USCAP) 111th annual meeting

Terrance LynnTerrance Lynn, MD, Cytopathology Fellow at Geisinger Medical Laboratories, won the prestigious Stowell-Orbison Award. The Stowell-Orbison Awards are for trainees who are currently residents or fellows in pathology who present the best research work through the medium of a poster presentation.  Dr. Lynn's research work was entitled "TRPS1 is a Highly Sensitive and Specific Marker for Diagnosing Triple-negative Breast Carcinomas on Cytologic Samples."



Syed Abbas, MD, Cytopathology Fellow, won the Papanicolaou Society of Cytopathology’s first prize award and the Pakistani American Pathologists Society Trainee of the Year Award.  The Papanicolaou Award, established in 1958, is the highest award given by the American Society of Cytopathology and is presented annually to a physician or PhD member in recognition of meritorious contributions in the field of Cytopathology.The USCAP honors superior performance in teaching, research, publications and service by recognizing vision, imagination, and intuitive leadership.


Sara Monaco, MD, system director of cytopathology, was awarded the 2021 President’s Award from the American Society of Cytopathology (ASC) at the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology’s 111th annual meeting. The award is presented annually to a pathologist and/or cytotechnologist in recognition of extraordinary contributions to the ASC.


Locations  |    Search  |    Site Map |   Contact Us

©2000-2022 Geisinger Health System.   All rights reserved.